Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2004-11-18 - 9:43 p.m.

Today is my birthday.

It is the twentieth anniversary of my twenty first birthday (that makes me 41). I have not had the greatest year. Looking back over the past year I have been through the most horrible holiday season I can ever remember during which time my husband became involved with another woman and tried to get me to hit him so he could have me arrested for spousal abuse, I sobered up in January, separated in February and filed for divorce also in February.

I met my wonderful boyfriend (and wouldn't date him because he is too young for me), applied for (and got) a new job in my company, and barely survived a lay-off because of my new position.

I was rediagnosed as bipolar, refused to take the first medication prescribed, changed doctors, went through three months worth of side effects and avoided the rash "the Raaaaasssshh".

But wait there is more.

I went on to date my lovely Beau (despite his youth), my soon to be ex (not soon enough if you ask me) avoided paperwork and court dates right up until the last minute then filed for support, and next week I will have yet another non-productive court date that will cost me $150 an hour (oh yeah and my lawyer admitted that he was overcharging me by $50 and hour - Oops).

Here's the thing; this is the best birthday in a really long time, let me tell you about it.

I woke up in the arms of a man who loves me. It was a wonderful wake-up call.

I went to work and found my cubicle decorated and a gift (which would have been enough for me to feel good) but that's not all. There were more gifts, including a very old book of Dorothy Parker poems complete with pressed flowers and that incredible old book smell that fills my mind with thoughts of ages gone by.

Still there was more, a lunch party with home made carrot cake (my second one since my students got me one last night to celebrate) and good wishes from everyone.

My Brothers both called to wish me Hippo Birdies, my Mom and Dad, Niece and Nephew sent e-cards and later wished me hippo birdies on the phone.

Here is the best part, my wonderful Beau baked (yes I said baked) me a carrot cake (that makes three) from scratch (yes I said scratch) and decorated (yes, well you get the idea) it with a ying/yang in purple (my favorite color) and white. He presented me with a beautiful set of jade earrings to match the necklace he gave me a while ago (cause I needed one to replace the one my ex had given me) and electronic toys (USB/PC card, Mini Mouse, and number keypad so I can use my character map) for my laptop (my birthday gift to me purchased a little early because I had a novel to write in November). He listened when I complained about not being able to use the charater map. He listened to me. He pays attention and I love him for that.

All and all it is more than I deserve and I am so happy right now. Stuff is coming that will piss me off I'm sure. I have to see my pain in the butt ex and most likely his girlfriend other wise known as the woman who set me free. He is her problem now and I am just hoping the Judge agrees.

None of that matters right now. Right now I am having a very Happy Birthday.

Now all I need to do now is write another 35,000 words on my novel and this month will be the best of my life to date.

I still have one wish left....

I wish you Peace

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!